Ummm WTF?

Oksmile

So I have a myspace like nearly everyone else on the planet, and I was making the rounds one night and came across this guy that seemed pretty nice and added him as a friend.

He sent me a response to my request, then added me.

I thought it was pretty kool, but just left it at that.

Kind of leery of the internet dating thing.roll

Well he seemed nice enough, and he started to message me.

At one point he even asked me to hook up with him.

I was kinda not feeling it, but he was pretty cute so I messaged him back, and said maybe.

Well most of people who know me know that I’m mixed.

My mother is Puerto Rican, Native American, African-American and Irish, and my dad is Cuban. big grin

So I send a message asking him if he read that I was mixed? I assumed he did because my profile says it. Anyway I ask just to make sure.

My profile says Hispanic, which is kind of a pet peeve of mine because all Latin people are not the same, but America doesn’t seem to get that.

Puerto Ricans, Costa Ricans, Cubans, Dominicanas, Ecuadorians, Nicaraguans, and I could go on and on, many consider themselves Island people, not Hispanic. Anyway , I digress.

Well this is what he sent back to me after I told him I was mixed;dry

IT SAYS LATINO SO, I HAVE NO PROBLEM THERE. IF YOU HAVE BLACK IN YOU ICAN’T DO IT BY THE WAY I GOT FAMILY IN , JUST LEFT WEEKS AGO . SO U WERE CLOSER TWO ME THEN YOU THOUGHT . BE BACK THATWAY WHEN I HOOK UP WITH A DECENT JOB

SO IF YOUR BLACK PLEASE DROP ME OFYOUR FRIENDS

IF NOT KEEP IN CONTACT AND WE WILL SEE ANY THING ISPOSSIBLE WITH

RESPECTS

I nearly fell off my chair.unsure (I obviously left his name out.) Not only could he not spell, nor did he have a job, but I have never received a message like this in my life. I grew up in the Hollywood hills, and have never experienced anything like this. Sh*t, the first boyfriend I ever had was white!

This makes me more sad than angry, because it simply states that America is still very ingrained in its archaic beliefs, and I thank GOD that my parents didn’t believe this way, or I wouldn’t be here.wink

Maybe this is why I’m having such a hard time of getting my book published, because there are people like this person still out there.

Leave a Reply

