Reviews…reviews…reviews

Author Alexandria Infante. 
This is the Teaching between Midnight and Dawn Series

So, now that we’re over the Good Reads crap I wanted to poll the group and ask about some of the reviews you guys have received. I learned when I first got started, that you have to suck it up. I remember I used to be so dejected about them, but my colleagues at work would tell me to suck it up and realize that everyone isn’t going to like what you write. 

The funny things is I actually ask readers now what steps they feel I should take to correct the manuscripts, which is why the Gr thing was so shocking to me. I love hearing from fans whether good or bad, because it keeps me on my toes. I’m not stupid, I know they are my bread and butter. I haven’t experience anything like the Gr thing up until this point, so I counted myself as lucky. 

I love twitter and facebook because I actually get to see the fans pages, who they are, and what else they like. I’ve always garnered good reviews, however I have encountered a few that weren’t so nice. I won’t post them here, but if you want to check them out just head over to the website (www.poisonedpin.webs.com)


 As most of you know I used to write for Eternal Press, but we parted ways because of a stalemate. I will say this though, it was a bit easier to be a part of a company; because if there were typos and such, you could at least blame it on the last round of edits hahaha!


The problem with self publishing, is although I do have an editor, she’s only one person. So this can often times come out in the work itself. No matter how many times you read and re-read that blasted manuscript, I promise you’ll still miss something, and nowadays even the big houses are doing the same. Traditional publishing houses are becoming obsolete, because of places like createspace and amazon, but I don’t have to tell you guys that. I was thinking of finding a beta group again. My students used to beta read, but unfortunately for me most of them have graduated lol, and are in their master’s programs now; so I only have Carin. However, she’s the shiznet. She’s freelance, so I’m not her only client. Yet, even with both of our eyes we still miss stuff.


My latest book was released two weeks ago, and it received a three stars from a reader; however, she said there were some issues with the antagonist’s plot. I wish I had her email, so I could ask her what she thinks I should change, but unfortunately she’s on good reads and I will never go back there.


So if any of you happen to buy the book and see the same things, please don’t hesitate to email me on the subject.


Tomorrow…

Reviews cont…

Sat:
Why do you write what you write?

Hope you guys have an awesome day!!!

Leave a Reply

